Awards / Prix

(les prix en français suit)

See something missing? We welcome input on this work in progress. Please contact us to add information.


SSHRC Partnership Impact Award shortlisting
Situating Science (incl. 6 co-applicants)

Aesop Chair in Philosophy, 2014 (1.5 million$)
Université de Montréal receives anonymous donation for new Aesop Chair in Philosophy. Philosopher of science, Frédéric Bouchard, is the first Chair.

NSERC Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering, 2014 ($1,000,000)
Ford Doolittle (Dalhousie University)
Doolittle is co-founder of the interdisciplinary and CIFAR-funded Evolution Studies Group and plans to use part of the funds to explore philosophy of biology.

Paul Thagard (University of Waterloo) received the Canada Council for the Arts Killam Prize (2013) among other major awards and is elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (1999) 

Michael Hayden (UBC) receives Canada Council for the Arts Killam prize (2011) and other major awards

Ian Hacking (University of Toronto) was made Companion of the Order of Canada (2004) and is one of the most celebrated STS/HPS scholar in Canada

The Origin Cycle wins Performance of the Year at the Australian ART Music Awards (2011). The performance of this piece was put on during the “Current Issues in Darwinian Theory” workshop (2009).


SSHRC Partnership Development Grant, 2014 (200,000$)
Cosmopolitanism and the Local in Science and Nature
Co-applicants: Gordon McOuat, Letitia Meynell, Yiftach Fehige, Bernie Lightman, Anna Agathangelou, Lesley Cormack, Arun Bala, Sundar Sarukkai, Dhruv Raina.
Collaborators: Carla Nappi, Bob Brian, Sheila Jasanoff, Doug Berger, Jamil Ragep and Anna Winterbottom

SSHRC Connection Grant, 2014 (22,080$)
Place and Practice in Oceanography: Doing Science on and in the Ocean 1800-2012
Co-applicants: Gordon McOuat (King’s), Katharine Anderson (York) and Helen Rozwadowski (Connecticut)
Collaborators: Melanie Frappier (King’s)

SSHRC Connection Grant, 2013 (12,072$)
“Isaac Newton’s General Scholium to the Principia: Science, Religion and Metaphysics”
Applicant: Stephen Snobelen (King’s)

Templeton Grant, 2013 (£376,193)
York University Institute for Science and Technology Studies.
3-year grant to explore public debates surrounding evolution and religion (2013)

SSHRC Connection Grant, 2014
“Social Science, Ideology, and Public Policy in the United States, 1961 to the Present”
Co-applicants: Mark Solovey (University of Toronto) and Michael Pettit (York) and Alexandra Rutherford (York)

SSHRC Connection Grant, 2013 (21,110$)
“Science and Society 2013: Emerging Agendas for Sciences and Citizens”
Co-applicants: Marc Saner (University of Ottawa)
Collaborator: Gordon McOuat (King’s)

SSHRC Partnership Grant Letter of Intent, 2013
For planning an application for a five year project on “Sciences, Technologies, and Publics” (2013).
Co-applicants: Bernie Lightman (York) and dozens of others

Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute Faculty Mobility Grant, 2012
To explore socio-political-institutional structures of post-colonial Indian science and engage in pedagogical and partnership exchange
Applicant: Gordon McOuat (King’s)

SSHRC Partnership  Grant, 2013 (2,483,150$)
“Thinking While Doing: Connecting Insight to Innovation in the Construction Sector”
Co-applicants: Ted Cavanagh (Dalhousie) and others
Collaborators include Letitia Meynell (Dalhousie) and Mélanie Frappier (King’s).

SSHRC Partnership Development Grant
“The Network for Sensory Research”
Co-applicants: Mohan Matthen (University of Toronto) and others

SSHRC Aid to Research Workshops and Conferences, 2011 (24,418$)
“Sciences and Narratives of Nature, East and West
Applicant: Gordon McOuat (King’s)
Daryn Lehoux (Queen’s) receives a Shastri Indo-Canadian Scholar Travel Subsidy Grant for same event

SSHRC Aid to Research Workshops and Conferences, 2010
Science Without Data: The Role of Thought Experiments in Empirical Investigations
Applicant: Letitia Meynell (Dalhousie)

Andrew W. Mellon Foundation grant and National Science Foundation grant
John Tyndall Correspondence Project
Applicant: Bernie Lightman (York)

SSHRC International Opportunity Fund, 2010
Circulating Knowledge, East and West
Co-applicants: Gordon McOuat (King’s), Larry Stewart (U. Sask.) and Bernie Lightman (York)
Veena Rao (Bangalore) and Sundar Sarukkai (Manipal) receive Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute Scholar Travel Subsidy Grants for the event.


Margaret Morrison (University of Toronto) is the 2014/15 Durham University Institute of Advanced Study Emergence Fellow

Mohan Matthen (University of Toronto IHPST) is elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (2012)

Bernie Lightman (York) is elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (2011)

James R. Brown (University of Toronto) is elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (2007)

Françoise Baylis (Dalhousie University NovelTech Ethics) is elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (2007)

Trevor Levere (University of Toronto) is elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (1980)


Frédéric Bouchard est Chaire Aesop en Philosophie à l’Université de Montréal

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s